Wintergrass and IBMA 2012

Wintergrass 2012 will have a variety performers that are nominated for 2011 IBMA (International Bluegrass Music Association) Awards.

Entertainers of Year- The Grascals, Female Vocalist of The Year-Claire Lynch, Song of the Year-“I Am Strong” by The Grascals,Recorded Event of the Year-“I am Strong” by The Grascals,Banjo Player of the Year-Kristen Scott Benson of The Grascals, Bass Player of the Year-Mike Bub performing with Tim O’brien, Guitar Player of the Year-Cody Kilby of Ricky Skaggs and Kentucky Thunder and Bryan Sutton performing with Tim O’brien

And the big nomination for Wintergrass itself is ” Wintergrass Youth Orchestra Gala; February 2011″ for the Bluegrass Event of the Year!


Wintergrass Youth Academy Instructor Wins a Scholarship.

This year, Molly Adkins of Salem, Oregon a band member of The Bluegrass Regulators and a Wintergrass Youth Academy Youth Instructor was one of only two recipients of this scholarship. This is a great honor and major accomplishment!!!

The Grey Fox Bill Vernon Memorial Scholarship is awarded annually to talented and motivated students who are involved in bluegrass music and who demonstrate a need for financial assistance. Past recipients have included Casey Henry, Bill Evans, Kristin Scott Benson, Rushad Eggleston, Amanda Kowalski and others.

The Bluegrass Regulators were also one of only a few bands selected to perform in the International Bluegrass Music Association’s formal showcase. They will be performing on Monday September 26, 2011 at the Nashville Convention Center in Nashville, Tennessee.